Second Chances

Posted: June 14, 2010 in Uncategorized

In the summer of 2009, my church had a baptism/church cookout where about 8 people were being baptized.  I was in charge of the hot dogs so I made sure we had plenty of hot dogs and buns.  One huge problem – no condiments!  People starting asking for mustard and ketchup and I just wanted to die.  I couldn’t believe that I overlooked something so obvious!

A year later, we had another baptism event.  The food was all taken care of (pork barbeque, hot dogs, and hamburgers) and I wanted to redeem myself from the embarrassment of the previous year.  I wanted a second chance!   So, I signed up to bring all of the condiments.

The day of the event, I was up early slicing tomatoes and onions, leafing lettuce, and putting pickles, ketchup, mayo, mustard, and relish on ice.  I had it all!  I put all of it in a cooler and made my way out the door.  This was my second chance and I wanted to do a good job.  Through all of this, I was reminded about how exciting a second chance can be.  When we get a second chance, we try harder; we want to do better.  We start to feel good about what we’ve done and we want to share it with others!  I am so thankful that we serve a God of second chances and people are getting second chances at life every day.

Take time today to remember how exciting a second chance really is.

Share

Leave a comment